Corporate Governance

Overseeing the business


As a company limited by guarantee we are incorporated under the Companies Act 2006 as Liverpool Victoria Financial Services Limited (LVFS).

  • We’re bound by the Companies Act as well as our own Articles of Association.
  • Our Articles set out how we’re governed, how someone becomes a member, the election of directors and the process for Annual General Meetings and Special General Meetings.
  • The LV= Board are responsible for our strategic success and represent the interests of members and customers.

Board Members

  • Alan Cook, Chairman
  • David Neave, Non-Executive Director
  • David Barral, Non-Executive Director
  • Colin Ledlie, Non-Executive Director
  • Alison Hutchinson, Non-Executive Director
  • Luke Savage, Non-Executive Director
  • Seamus Creedon - Non-Executive Director
  • Susan McInnes, Non-Executive Director
  • Wayne Snow, Chief Risk Officer

Board Committees

  • Audit Committee
  • Investment Committee
  • Risk Committee
  • Remuneration Committee
  • Corporate Governance and Nomination Committee
  • With-Profits Committee
  • RNPFN Supervisory Board

A leading financial mutual in the UK

On 2 January 2020 we officially converted from a friendly society to a company limited by guarantee.
  • Our company name is Liverpool Victoria Financial Services Limited.
  • Our company number is 12383237.
  • Our registered address is County Gates, Bournemouth, BH1 2NF.

Acquisitions in our history

  • Liverpool Crown & Anchor Friendly Society (1885)
  • Liverpool Protective Assurance & Burial Society (1903)
  • New Era (1904)
  • General Friendly Collecting Society (1908)
  • Most Friendly Burial Collecting Society (1933)
  • City Mutual (Guernsey) Collecting Society (1935)
  • City Mutual (Jersey) Collecting Society (1935)
  • Hibernian Mutual Assurance Collecting Society (1944)
  • General Federation of Trade Unions Friendly & Collecting Society (GFTU) (1952)
  • Independent Burial Society (1953)
  • Withington Friendly Burial Collecting Society (1954)
  • Ardwick Union Burial Society (1957)
  • Keighley Samaritan Brief (1963)
  • Druids Burial Society (1965)
  • Frizzell (1996)
  • Landmark (1997)
  • Royal National Pension Fund for Nurses (RNPFN, 2001)
  • Permanent Insurance (2001)
  • Bishopscourt (2002)
  • UIA Life Businesses (2005)
  • ABC (2006)
  •  Britannia Rescue (2007)
  • Tomorrow (2007)
  • Highway Insurance (2008)
  • Wealth Wizards Limited (2015)
  • Teachers Assurance Company Limited (2016)
  • Teachers Provident Society (2016)

2020 Annual General Meeting

Information about our 2020 Annual General Meeting

We usually hold our Annual General Meeting (AGM) each summer. Due to the current Covid-19 situation, and following the advice from the UK Government and the NHS, we will not hold the 2020 AGM around the normal time.

At this difficult time, the safety of our members and employees remains our top priority. We’ll continue to monitor the situation and schedule an AGM when it is the right time for everyone. Once we have done this we will of course be in contact with our members with all the relevant information.