We use cookies to give you the best possible experience online. By continuing to use our website, you agree to receiving our cookies on your web browser. Visit our cookie policy page to find out more and how to change your cookie settings.

skip to main content

Our 2014 LV= Breakthrough Player Award longlist is revealed!

We’re delighted to announce the ten rising stars that have made the longlist and are in the running for the accolade that celebrates the next generation of young cricketers, the Breakthrough Player Award. They are:

  • Zafar Ansari (Surrey)
  • Alex Lees (Yorkshire)
  • Craig Overton (Somerset)
  • Sam Hain (Warwickshire)
  • Ben Cox (Worcestershire)
  • Adam Riley (Kent)
  • Jason Roy (Surrey)
  • Reece Topley (Essex)
  • Lewis Gregory (Somerset)
  • Will Tavaré (Gloucestershire)

A panel of five judges including former England captain Mike Gatting and ECB performance director David Parsons will then select five players to form the shortlist, before voting is opened in August.

Surrey's Rory Burns being presented with the 2013 LV= County Championship Breakthrough Player Award by Mike Gatting

LV= Breakthrough Player 2013 – Surrey’s Rory Burns

LV=, County Gates, Bournemouth, BH1 2NF, UK